Finally

I don’t normally do mid week posts but this is worth celebrating.

To carry on from the end of the post last week, I finally managed to fit a Daredevil with enough bling to have a crack at Burner missions, but before I got carried away I tried a t2 variant I found on YouTube. Reason for this was the difficulty in finding Faction fittings for the ship in the Singularity environment so I felt it warranted a few practice runs.

With a Gurista Burner Mission on the clock, I spent the last 4 days trying to crack it without coming close. I wasn’t very good at regulating heat damage and turning the overload off, while trying to manage everything else, but even so I wasn’t getting the range right and just couldn’t get enough damage on target. Each attempt left me frustrated and dejected to the extent that I had almost given up.

The mission was due to expire today at 22:00 UTC so I figured I had nothing to lose. I  decided to use my blinged out Daredevil. The fit was from the Blitz doc by Anize Oramara and has an in-game fitting price of 180 mill which I think is pretty conservative.

So in I went, I knew what to expect as I had been there 5 times already. The Burner Worm would be at 45k’s and would insta lock me and then at 30k’s I would be scrammed, effectively shutting down the MWD. I needed to get within 10k’s to activate my scram and to say I wasn’t confident was an understatement.

In I went with overheat on the hardeners, MWD and scram. Align – activate MWD, approach 20, 15 10… activate scram – got him, deactivate the heat on the hardeners, repper, MWD and scram. Overheat guns and watch the distance. Manage the cap booster and repper. Watch the range and heat damage and make sure I really turned them off and they have cycled.

My shields were gone after the first volley. The repper managed to keep my armour up although it must have got low as there was some bleed into hull but the guns were doing there job and the Worm was suffering.

3 minutes in, he popped and I missed it.

I was too busy making sure everything was working, my head was in the modules…. It took me a while to realise he was gone.

The cargo held 2,700 isk worth of pathetic T1 modules but that didn’t matter. It was done. Back to the station and half a mill to repair the damage on my modules, due to heat damage, but nothing had burnt out.

I felt a sense of achievement that I haven’t felt for a long time in Eve.

Fly Safe as Always,
Yad

 

[Daredevil, Gurista Worm Burner solo]
Corpii A-Type Small Armor Repairer
Centus B-Type Armor Kinetic Hardener
Shadow Serpentis Armor Kinetic Hardener
Magnetic Field Stabilizer II

Coreli A-Type 5MN Microwarpdrive
Faint Epsilon Scoped Warp Scrambler
Small Electrochemical Capacitor Booster I

[Empty High slot]
Light Neutron Blaster II
Light Neutron Blaster II

Small Ancillary Current Router I
Small Auxiliary Thrusters I
Small Auxiliary Thrusters II

Void S x7984
Navy Cap Booster 400 x6

 

 

Leave a Reply

