BB77 – The Malaise

Welcome to the continuing monthly EVE Blog Banters and our 77th edition! For more details about what the blog banters are please visit the Blog Banter page.

Blog Banter 77 – The Malaise

Is there a malaise affecting Eve currently? Blogs and podcasts are going dark and space just feels that little bit emptier. One suggestion is that there may be a general problem with the vets, especially those pre-Incarna and older, leaving and being replaced by newer players who are not as invested in the game. The colonists versus immigrants? Is this a problem? Are there others? Or is everything just fine and it’s just another bout of summer “ZOMG EVE IZ DYING!”

Banter on…..

More of a ramble than a banter but here goes:
Anyone that has read any of the piffle I have written will realise that there is an underlying tone of doom. Right from the start of this blog I was predicting the demise of Eve.

The numbers show it, every day that I log in the ‘players in-game figure’ is less than it was a month ago.
The amount of players represented in the graphs from Eve-Offline confirm it, just look at newborns and player peaks and watch the downward spiral.
The game itself screams it, a major event release in Shadow of the Serpent is panned as being too difficult to and tedious to keep even the mega enthusiast active. An Eve player I know said that it was almost worse than mining and we all know that nothing in the Eve universe is worse than mining.
The general vacuum left after WWB makes it feel inevitable. No one is really talking about anything. There is no buzz there is no story.
Could a Palantine Keepstar ignite the passion? That story went dead back in March with many predicting the first would go up in a wormhole.

But, and there always is one but…

I think I talked myself into finally understanding my own lack of engagement with the game. My malaise can be tracked back to the lack of a goal. I don’t have anything set and therefore I am adrift like a corpsicle in the emptiness of space. And that’s the way I feel about the game right now.

As I write this I am moving a freighter up the pipe to Jita. There isn’t much in the ship and I am flying what I can afford to lose. This trip is not necessary, I could have avoided it, but I wanted to get it out of the way. I will spend about two hours in-game moving some trade goods to market and adding to my wallet.

The excitement I used to feel when I couldn’t afford to fly the ship was addictive. I kind of miss that. I made my fortune gambling all my isk on a single blueprint and then moving that original print 40 something jumps through Null Sec and hostile space to the relative safety of my home system. From that point on I had goals, I had a reason to log in.

Somewhere along the Eve journey I forgot to revisit where I was headed. I lost sight of what I wanted to achieve.

I am not looking for the ‘old eve’ I am not looking to relive the game I knew, because in a twisted way I love the game I am in, I just lost sight of the goal or more importantly I think I failed to set one. That kind of leaves me as a sad old pilot unable to biomass his account and keeping up the payments just in case something happens. I did have an idea once of filling my freighter full of shuttles and blowing it up outside the Jita undock, but I ran it on test and the result wasn’t what I expected.
Maybe I should use a Bowhead?

There are a lot of things that still make me smile. Pilot names in local and not just pilots, flying through Du Annes and you come across a Citadel named – unicorns and rainbows. Or things like Stekarn’s Capsule is sitting 15k off the Renyn Gate at zero m/s making him a prime target for pod poppers. Every system in the pipe has at least 5 people in it and we are an hour before down time and outside the big TZ. There is a CODE. pilot sitting in Hatakani and a corpse on the gate. Most systems have a Citadel or two, Perimeter has 11 and I am docked at one now. There are 981 players still in Jita 15 minutes before DT and still a wealth of scams in local, I like reading them.
The 4-4 undock is strangely quiet.

Is Eve dead to these players?  Is there a malaise invading their game? I don’t think so, I think Eve is alive and vibrant. Each and every one of them, like me, is on-line right now flying something, going somewhere, doing whatever it is that they logged into do. It isn’t what it used to be but which game ever is?

Are new players any different to the old one’s? Is it that those of us that joined before the Incarna release are leaving and being replaced with those that are not as invested as we were? I don’t think so, I can assure you I wasn’t all that invested when I started. I spent the first 6 months on 30 day top ups and then moved to 90 day. I didn’t drop an entire years subscription on the game until I had been playing for several..

So where does that leave us, those players still paying our subs and logging in?

I am not really sure.
I do know I have talked myself in a circle and failed to make a solid argument for or against the topic. It has however been a learning experience and more importantly for me, as a player, it has finally dawned on me that to make this game worth playing again I have to do something, I have to set a goal, I have to get off my backside and make it exciting.

No one else is going to do it for me.

Fly Safe as Always
Yad

One thought on “BB77 – The Malaise

  1. Thought provoking. I’ve had a similar malaise over the past few years, thus the random goals I’ve set myself (make a billion trading (tick!), make 10 bil trading (tick!), make 100 bil trading…. um, sure). You might have to think outside of the box a little, maybe see if you can corner a market (making ammo/drones/etc), maybe pod stray capsules on gates and then sell them implants to replace their losses (from a different account)?
    So many options, so hard to find one that appeals.

    Like

Leave a Reply

